JCW+ Father’s Day Dialogue 2024

Here is a synopsis of our Father’s Day Dialogue.

On June 15, 2024, the Literature Review Club and Quilt Working Group jointly organized an event to recognize and appreciate men who support women living with HIV. Fifteen men confirmed their attendance, and twelve were in attendance.

A Tale of 18 Women and 10 Spouses, 1 cousin and 1 son; gathered for a sensitization session on Communication in Family Relationships and Its Link to Family Violence & Gender-Based Violence, Caring for Men’s Health followed by Art Therapy making Father’s Day greeting cards

What I Feel About My Father

  • I am special to my father (only child)
  • I did not grow up seeing a dad
  • My dad was always there for me
  • I  don’t know a father
  • I wish I had known him, he died when I was 11 months old
  • I wish I had a father that loved me; he died
  • I did not have a father who cared for me
  • He is a wutliss (worthless)man
  • He is a great dad… when he can
  • He was a good man, but ‘he never afraid to use his cutlass to beat us’
  • He was a good father, but very strict…him don’t  romp, my brother got a lot of beating
  • Worst father ever
  • I feel empty now that he is gone (dead)
  • I feel disappointed that he did not have time for us
  • I feel good that we had a good relationship
  • I was happy when he was in my life
  • I felt left out he was never there for any of his children
  • I feel great about my father because he is helpful
  • Thank him for the donation of sperm to my mother
  • He was a great man to his seven children with one woman
  • He was the best father he cared for all of us
  • He is a good dad, he never beat us, and even now he supports his grandchildren
  • Great dad, he gave me all he could
  • I feel empty I did not get to know him although he was in the home
  • My dad was a great dad he did his best when he was alive
  • He never allowed us to go hungry….he never failed with the discipline
  • Disappointed, I was burdened with all the responsibilities because I was the eldest child. He never helped us when he was abroad
  • I love my dad, I am special to my dad

Published by advocacyhope

At (JCW+), our goal is to support and empower women to reach their full potential and be recognized as productive citizens. We do this through our advocacy and leadership capacity building programs.

Leave a comment